I’ve been posting these in the wrong blog…

2 04 2012

March 12th

I agree with Twain’s quote. I mean, it makes perfect sense. If you are writing a fictional story, as we have discussed in class, you need to write about what you know to write good fiction. Not only that, but if you read a true story that seems too crazy to be true, it hits home a lot harder than if you knew the story was fiction. In example, if you read a fictional story about a man winning the lottery 3 times, it is just a fictional story. If you read a true story about the same thing, it kind of blows your mind. While you can take an idea and form it into anything you want, if you are writing a fictional story, you are much more limited when writing a strictly non-fiction story.

I interpret the second half to say, “since you need to write about what you know in order to write fiction, it is no stranger than writing about an experience you truly had.” I guess Twain may be saying that fictional stories can have just much of an impression as nonfiction. By possibilities, I believe Twain is talking about personal experiences. I think the second half of the quotation is omitted while the rest of the quotation is famous because it is a very conflicting view, in my eyes. At first, you have twain saying that truth is stranger than fiction, then he says they are each equally as strange.

Actions

Information

One response

18 04 2012
You’re never too old to find a passion in life. Writing brings me joy! | My Life in my 60's

[…] I’ve been posting these in the wrong blog… (scarvesandcigarettes.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

